Latham Centers Celebrates “Independence” at 2014 Year-End Celebration

June 24, 2014

Latham Centers held its 2014 Annual Meeting and Year-End celebration on the campus of Latham School Friday, June 20. The “Independence-themed” celebration featured special presentations by staff, board of directors and students under sunny 70-degree skies. Highlights included the announcement of an Outstanding Vocational Student Achievement Award, the Roy T. Morgan Community and Staff Awards and the McClennan Awards for Staff Excellence and Community Service to Latham.  
The President’s Award for Outstanding Vocational Achievement was awarded to Latham School student Geanina R.  Geanina earned the Vocational Award for her hard work, positive attitude, and passion for her two campus vocational positions delivering newspapers and dining room setup.  Director of Children’s Services Pam Nolan and Director of Education Gerry Pouliot, III both remarked on student successes and their unique and hard-earned achievements in leading more independent lives while at Latham this school year.
Roy T. Morgan Community Awards were announced acknowledging special individuals who made a significant contribution to the work of Latham Centers. Community recipients of the 2014 Morgan Awards were: State Representative Clean H. Turner; The Masonic Angel Foundation of Orleans (accepted by Dr. Robert Fellows); and The MSPCA Cape Codaccepted by Brittany Pickul.
The Morgan Staff Award for exceptional service in Latham Children’s program went to clinician Melissa Hyer while the Adult program recipient was long-time residential counselor Jayne Billings.
The 2014 Mr. McClennan Award, bestowed upon a support and administrative staff member, was presented to Dawn Dinnan, Coordinator of Latham  Information Technology and Assistant to our CFO.
In a new category of William McClennan Community Service Awards, Latham President and CEO Anne McManus recognized AmeriCorps Cape Codmembers for their volunteer service, while Latham Development staff honored community partners Guapo’s Tortilla Shack, Sunderland Printing, and Neiman Marcus Natick.  
Outgoing Board of Directors Chair Kathryn B. Earle and Treasurer/Assistant Clerk Keith W. Bradley were both thanked and praised by incoming Board Chair Amy Carroll for their distinguished years of volunteer board service to the agency. As usual, Latham students stole part two of the celebration with their heart-warming musical and dance performances of “Forever” and the smash Broadway hit “Let it Go.” A festive, summertime lunch capped off the picture perfect day sponsored and hosted by our friends at Ocean Edge Resort and Golf Club
Submitted by:
Gerry Desautels
VP of Development & Community Outreach

    Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Top Categories

See all categories


See all archives